Free Shipping on orders over US$49.99

What is A1, A2 and B Fire classification Cladding Materials?

While choosing the cladding material for buildings, most people are ignorant about the performance and fire classification of the cladding materials. But in reality, it is highly important to consider these factors in order to prevent any fore accident. Knowing the fire safety standard of the cladding materials can help in enhancing the safety of your building as well as the residents.

Basically, when the cladding materials for buildings undergo the fire test, they are divided into four major categories. The four categories are:

Combustible Materials

The cladding materials that are highly combustible in nature fall under this category. These materials can easily catch fire, thereby putting the entire building and the life of the residents in danger. On catching fire, the flames can spread at a very fast rate and leads to the release of a large amount of heat. One of the prominent examples of combustible cladding material is wood dust.

Non-Combustible Materials

The non-combustible cladding materials are the ones that do not catch fire at all. Such materials are usually considered to be the safest option for cladding your building. The material does not burn as well as does not produce any flammable vapors. It helps in offering optimum protection to your building in case of any unexpected fire incidents. Common examples of construction cladding materials that fall under this category are terracotta and stone.

Fire-Resistant Materials

These are yet another type of non-flammable materials. When you want to ensure that there is sufficient time for the residents to vacate the building, using fire-resistant cladding materials is an ideal option. Even when your building catches fire, these claddings function optimally and give you enough time to evacuate the place and save your lives. Some of the cladding materials coming under this category are brick, gypsum wallboard, and concrete.

Ignition Resistant Materials

The ignition-resistant cladding material catches fire immediately but takes much time for the flame to spread over the entire building. This category stands in between the combustible material and the non-combustible material. Examples of such cladding material are the specific variants of wood.

On the basis of the properties mentioned above, the cladding materials used in the building are classified as A1, A2, and B.

A1 Fire Rating Cladding Classification

The cladding materials that fall under the A1 fire classification are ones with the highest performance. These materials are non-combustible in nature and have no contribution to fire at all.

A2 Fire Rating Cladding Classification

The construction cladding materials of A2 cladding have limited combustibility properties. They have very limited contribution towards the fire.

B Fire Rating Cladding Classification

These are the no flashover materials. They are the combustible materials that can have some contribution to the fire in your building.

Knowing about the fire classification of the cladding materials is important. It helps in choosing the best materials that can ensure optimum fire safety standards for your home. It ensures the protection of the building as well as the occupants.

Source link

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Home For Improvement
      Enable registration in settings - general
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Shopping cart